Advisory Board

The Greener Journeys advisory board comprises leading professionals from the bus, wider transport and academic sectors who provide senior strategic advice and guidance. The board is chaired by Professor David Begg.

Professor David Begg: Chair of Greener Journeys advisory board

David has policy expertise in the rail and bus sectors and is an adviser to government on High Speed Rail and to Transport for Greater Manchester. David was chairman of the UK government advisory body Commission for Integrated Transport (CfIT) between 1999 and 2005. He is a non-executive board member of FirstGroup.

Professor Jillian Anable: Professor of Transport and Energy Demand

Jillian is a Professor of Transport and Energy Demand. Her work focuses on transport and climate change with particular emphasis on the application of behavioural and psychological theory to the understanding of travel choice.

David Brown: Group Chief Executive of Go-Ahead Group

David Brown started his 28-year transport career with London Transport. He was appointed to the Go-Ahead board as group Chief Executive in July 2011 and was previously Managing Director of Surface Transport at Transport for London. Before joining TfL, David worked at Go-Ahead and led its London bus business between 2003 and 2006. David is also currently a Non-Executive Director of the Association of Train Operating Companies Limited (Chairman of the remuneration committee) and a Director of Rail Delivery Group Limited.

David Brown: Chief Executive of Transport for the North

David Brown is Chief Executive of Transport for the North, an organisation formed in 2015 to bring together local transport authorities and combined authorities across the North of England. He previously served as bus chair for pteg and Director General of Merseytravel. David and has over 20 years’ experience in commercial, operational and business management positions in the rail industry. He was previously Director General of SYPTE, having been promoted from the position of Passenger Services Director in April 2008. David has a degree in geography, is a member of the Institute of Directors (IOD) and has a diploma in Company Direction from the IOD.

Hilary Chipping: Head of infrastructure of South East Midlands Local Enterprise Partnership (SEMLEP)

Hilary is Head of Infrastructure at the South East Midlands Local Enterprise Partnership (SEMLEP). She was previously a civil servant, having joined as an economist with an MA from the University of Manchester. As Director of Network Strategy at the Highways Agency from 2001 to 2007 she developed the investment strategy for the motorway and trunk road network. She is passionate about sustainable transport and always travels around her area using public transport.

Ben Colson: Trustee of West Norfolk Community Transport

Ben has worked for over forty five years in the bus industry, culminating in him establishing Norfolk Green, a rural bus network in Norfolk and extending into Cambridgeshire and Lincolnshire, which went on to be judged UK Bus Operator of the Year in 2010. Three years later he sold the company to Stagecoach and has since fulfilled a number of roles within and outside the transport industry. He is currently a Trustee of West Norfolk Community Transport and the Chairman of ALBUM, the municipal and independent bus operator managers association.

Gareth Powell: Managing Director of Surface Transport

Gareth joined Surface Transport in 2003 after working in several roles for Thames Water and the infrastructure consultancy WS Atkins, both in the UK and abroad. Prior to his appointment as Managing Director, he was Director of Public Transport & TfL Strategy. While at TfL, Gareth held various roles in Group Business Planning and Performance before moving to co-lead a major reorganisation project and then joining London Underground as Director of Strategy and Service Development.

Giles Fearnley: Managing Director of First UK Bus

Giles has a strong track record in both bus and rail. In 1991 he led the management buy-out of Blazefield Holdings, which operated buses across Yorkshire and Lancashire. He has chaired Journey Solutions, the bus and rail industry initiative to promote integration since 2001 and has led FirstGroup’s UK bus division since January 2011.

Professor Stephen Glaister CBE

Stephen Glaister CBE PhD FICE FTRF FCGI is Emeritus Professor of Transport and Infrastructure at Imperial College London. He is a non-executive director of the Office of Rail and Road and Chair of the highways sub-committee and is now Chair of the Office of Road and Rail. Between 2008 and 2015 he was Director of the RAC Foundation. He has been a member of the analytical challenge panel at HS2 Ltd and was Partnership Director at Tube Lines. For eight years prior to this he sat on the board of Transport for London.

Stephen Joseph OBE: Chief Executive Officer of Campaign for Better Transport

Stephen became the executive director of Campaign for Better Transport (formerly Transport 2000) in 1988. He is widely regarded as an expert on transport policy, and is regularly called to serve as a governmental adviser. He has led numerous successful policy campaigns, is frequently quoted by the national press, and is a regular author of research and opinion pieces.

Kamal Panchal: Senior Adviser, Local Government Association

Backed by over 20 years of local government policy experience Kamal currently leads on transport and local growth policy advice for the Local Government Association, which he joined in 2011. Current areas of interest include buses policy, funding of roads and local transport, working with Highways England and tackling air pollution.

Steven Salmon: Director of Policy Development for Confederation of Passenger Transport UK

Steven joined the CPT, the bus, coach & light rail trade association, in 1997 and was previously Operations Director. Prior to this he worked in bus and coach management, and he is vice president of the International Road Transport Union’s Social Affairs Commission and a member of the employers’ delegation for European social dialogue in the road transport sector.

Anthony Smith: Chief Executive of Transport Focus

Anthony Smith is the Chief Executive of Transport Focus. Having qualified as a solicitor, Anthony worked for five years as principal consumer lawyer for the Consumers’ Association, publishers of Which? This was followed by a year as the legal consultant for Consumers International, a worldwide federation of consumer groups. Prior to joining Transport Focus, Anthony was deputy and acting director of ICSTIS, the regulator of premium rate telephone services.

Steve Gooding: Director of RAC Foundation

Steve became Director of the RAC Foundation in May 2015 after a civil service career encompassing many transport-related roles, most recently as Director General for Roads, Traffic & Local at the Department for Transport. His responsibilities included developing the Roads Investment Strategy, the Transport Strategy for the North, administering funding for local government, policy on road safety, and the running of the motoring services agencies.